Steering Group

Tom Leng and Tom Rutter
Team Tom: SCEMS Directors, Dr Tom Leng (left) and Dr Tom Rutter (right).

The Sheffield Centre for Early Modern Studies is directed by Dr Tom Leng (History) and Dr Tom Rutter (English). Dr Charlotte Steenbrugge coordinates the Centre’s activities, with assistance from Sheffield postgraduate Alex Taylor. Other members of the SCEMS Steering Group perform a consultative role, and ensure our focus remains interdisciplinary.

  • Dr Jeremy Dunham (Philosophy)
  • Dr David McCallam (French)
  • Dr Katherine Fennelly (Archaeology)
  • Dr James Shaw (History)
  • Dr Tim Shephard (Music)
  • Dr Rachel Stenner (English)
  • Dr Jan Woudstra (Landscape History)

The Early Modern Discussion Group coordinators, Eleanor Bland and Mabel Winter, also attend Steering Group meetings and provide postgraduate representation.

For further details about our members and their research interests, see the general Who’s Who pages.